Roodkapje is Rotterdam’s local laboratory for
ART X MUSIC X FOOD and everything in between

Delftseplein 39
3013 AA Rotterdam

Visit exhibition
Tue-Sat 12:00 – 17:00

Roodkapje is Rotterdam's local laboratory for
ART X LIVE X FOOD and everything in between

27 March 2022

Matchess + Goldblum {Futura Resistenza}

Burgertrut open: 12:00-22:00

The first Futura Resistenza curated event in Roodkapje is coming up! On the 27th of March we’re welcoming experimental sound wizards Matchess (US) & Goldblum (NL). Expect a sonic playground full of atmospheric tape-layered creations.

Matchess (Circuit des Yeux) is the alter ego of Chicago-based artist Whitney Johnson. With the limited palette of a 1960s Ace Tone organ, violin, some tuning forks, sound generators, reel-to-reel tape, field-recordings and her voice, she creates sound collages of ephemeral songs on a bed of ambient drones. She has recently collaborated with for TALsounds (as Damiana), Brett Naucke, Ryley Walker, Bitchin Bajas, Lea Bertucci and Sarah Davachi, among others.

Goldblum is Marijn Verbiesen (Red Brut, Sweat Tongue) and Michiel Klein (Lewsberg, Geo, Sweat Tongue). They create lo-fi sound collages working with flea market cassettes, tape-loops, keyboards and vocals in both English and Dutch. Live performances by Goldblum are completely improvised, sometimes chaotic, sometimes fragile. Expect fragments of golden oldies, crippled rhythms, noisy outbursts and melancholic melodies that come together in dreamlike songs and soundscapes, submerged in tape hiss.

Sounds like / recommended for fans of: Ryley Walker, Sarah Davachi, Heather Leigh

Futura Resistenza is a label and platform from Brussels and Rotterdam, that operates somewhere on the border between performance, music and visual arts. Roodkapje asked the label to program a series of concerts in our venue. Throughout this year Futura Resistenza invites musicians and artists who already have a connection with the label, as well as people who they simply admire and want to see perform. Some confirmed names include: Matchess (Circuit des Yeux), Frank Hurricane, Pierre Bastien, Ben Bertrand and Efraín Rozas.